Stop beating yourself and start building yourself.

When we let past mistakes take control of our lives, we can never know what the future has for us. The ugly past ceases our thoughts and dreams leaving no open doors for progress and happiness. Letting go of your past and starting a new life with beautiful memories is the easiest thing to say but very hard to do.

It does not matter whether you are married or single, mother or father. We all punish ourselves at one point unknowingly. It affects our behaviour and our relationship with the people around us. As a mother/father, dwelling in the past will affect your children. Parenting is not an easy job, it is an adventure that needs all of your efforts right from body, mind, emotions and knowledge. 

I understand the coronavirus pandemic has left parents in dismay due to lockdowns, collapsing businesses, joblessness and an increasing number of teenage pregnancies. The pandemic has left families with bitterness and war against themselves. At times we say words like:

What is wrong with me?

What was I thinking?

I wish I could go back in time.

It is not your fault that this is happening and, it is your fault that you are too hard on yourself. Stop beating yourself by overthinking. Seek help when you need it. Your bitterness will affect everyone around you. 

You can build yourself when you:

  • Quit self-criticism.
  • Stop comparing yourself to others.
  • Start thinking of your mistakes as learning opportunities. 
  • Be patient with yourself.
  • Practice kindness by saying nice things to yourself like, I am beautiful and strong and I will win. I do say this all the time I feel bad.
  • Surround yourself with positive energy.

And that is how you stop beating yourself up. 

Published by Motherly heart

My name is Mary Ajambo, and I am a blogger at motherly heart. I am a mother. I love writing. I am here to make parenting an Interesting adventure for both mums and dads.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started